College and the Afterlife

Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, has been asking me what I want to do when I graduate. I think this might be one of the most dangerous questions to ask a college senior unless they openly know what they want to do. Why? Frankly, it’s an intimidating question. Here’s why:

  • What if I really have no idea what I want to do?
  • What if college is really all I have set out to do?
  • What if I’m unsure about my degree and thinking about changing career paths?

Asking someone who is graduating college soon what company they’re planning to work for when they graduate is equally as dangerous. For me, I would LOVE to work for company like Vanguard, but I often just refer to it as my top company that I’m aiming for. Why? Well, what happens if I don’t get into Vanguard? I would feel like I set myself up to explain to a lot of people why I went in another direction. While I’m sure those people would be happy for me, it would still be an awkward conversation because I probably conveyed how deeply I wanted to work for that company.

So tips for college grads:

  • Be honest.
    • If you don’t know what you want to do, say it! There’s no shame in being honest about your realistic plans.
  • Just say “I plan to get a job in the marketing, PR, HR, etc. field”.
    • This keeps things broad and no one will be any of the wiser.
  • Be proud because you’re graduating.
    • This is a task that not many people accomplish so take some pride in that and show it off!

Don’t ever sell yourself short and always be proud of your degree, no matter what degree it is. You make it what it is. Take the education your worked for and make it into something. Go out and be the leaders of tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

