The tale of the dancing bread

 

69140957521050e133f406976a8656682d93971e[1]

 

As many, if not all, of you know at this point I am a gluten free person. I have been living my life gluten free for roughly five years at this point. But I don’t think I ever really told you guys why I made the decision, and then found I was actually gluten sensitive, to go gluten free.
About five years ago my mom came home and was pretty ill. Her doctor had tried almost everything and had given her a last stitch effort diet. It was the gluten free diet. Seeing my mom struggle was rough for me. Around the same time Miley Cyrus has come out and supported this diet with how awesome it had been making her feel so I figured I would support my mom and see if it would make a difference in my life. Fast forward six months and I attempt to have a regular sandwich with real bread. Oh that was a big, and I mean BIG, mistake. Instantly I felt a pain like I had never felt before in my stomach and my mom had to rush me to the emergency room. When I told the doctors what happened he performed a series of tests on me once I was admitted. The tests came back positive concluding that I was gluten sensitive. The American system has a very difficult time diagnosing people with celiac disease because the testing is extensive and can often come up with false positive and negatives so it is often that you might be labeled with a sensitivity.

Fast forwarding again to today I have successfully avoiding the gluten protein and feel great. I sleep much better and my body is thankful. However, I really miss a good piece of bread, a fresh cookie, or even a moist piece of cake. For a long time, a lot of gluten free things tasted like card board. However, recently I found an amazing bakery in Chalfont, PA, called The Happy Mixer. With the widest selection of pastries that are all gluten free, you can pretty much find anything you are looking for here.

Finding this bakery has been such a blessing for me. I had been having dreams about a dancing baguette. Weirdest thing to dream about I know but I had such a craving for a great piece of bread and The Happy Mixer came to my rescue. I was so grateful for the wide selection of breads between sandwich rolls, cinnamon sugar, and of course my French baguette.

Another really awesome feature about this bakery is you can put an order in ahead of time. You can either call it in or use their website to order it in advance so you know that they will have what you need. I find that really helpful because sometimes I like to prepare sandwiches for long days and I can’t always get to the bakery early in the morning before the early bird rush. This insures that my order is safe and that they can account for me.

The customer service is the greatest as well. I have been to this location multiple times and each time I am greeted with a pleasant smile and warm suggestions. I truly know that whatever I am about to purchase I am getting an honest opinion. My favorite so far has been the pumpkin muffin with the cream cheese frosting. Delicious! Just typing this makes my mouth start to water and I can’t wait to go back!

While being gluten free can be hard The Happy Mixer has given me the sense of normalcy that I have been searching for since I have been given my “death sentence” and taken away the stigma of being gluten free. I’ve even taken both of my roommates to this bakery and they’ve each gotten a treat and have complimented whatever they’ve eaten saying they couldn’t tell a difference. So what are you waiting for? They’re just a drive up County Line road away!

Leave a Reply

