Primal Cravings?

paleo-diet-what-is-it.jpg

The title may sound like a weird medieval TV to show but it’s actually the name of a cook book. “Your favorite foods made paleo”. Insert confused faces and questions about what is paleo?  Basically, paleo is reverting back to our cavemen like selves. Think hunting and gathering, but not because we’re civilized and have grocery stores. Nerd Fitness does a great job explaining what the paleo diet actually entails but basically like they said “if a caveman couldn’t eat it, neither can you”.

To many this diet may sound super, super, super…..super, harsh but I promise it is not. Having been on and off it for a while now, the paleo diet really restarts your body. For me, like I’ve already told you, sugar is a weakness and is often hard to control but with the paleo diet I can reset my body to it’s natural state which really doesn’t need all that much sugar anyway. I get my sweet tooth fix from fruits with this one, or in the cook book Primal Cravings, I can even bake and I’m still not going to the dark side of processed sugars! How awesome right?

primal-cravings-cookbook

So you might be thinking “Okay paleo sales person, what CAN I eat? Does it cost more in on my grocery bill? When can I start? (if I’m using the power of persuasion properly here)”.  Let me break it down:

  1. You can really eat anything that a hunter or gather would eat. So you will be eliminating primarily dairy and grains. Have no fear though, on the approved list is bacon, so I mean, it can’t be THAT bad can it?
  2. It should not cost more for you to start this diet as long as you don’t over purchase. My struggle the first time around with this diet was being almost over prepared to be hungry and I ended up wasting a lot of produce. Meal prepping like we spoke about last blog really can play a major factor in keeping the budget on track. I’ve even saved money on this diet because I’m not wasting money on fillers and extras to keep me going throughout the day.
  3. You can start today! Or tomorrow! It’s truly up to you. Paleo is not a diet that is for everyone, and you should absolutely consult a doctor before jumping in. However, I have tried a long list of things to get my body in check and feeling good, and this diet does just that. People often notice rather quickly as well. My face clears up completely (no sugar, no dairy, no gluten), my belly is flatter because nothing is bothering it, and I have more energy because I’m not getting highs and lows from processed food.

Next week I will demonstrate how easy it is to create some wonderful dishes via the paleo diet. Trust me, if the girl who craves tacos, sugar, and everything terrible for you can do this, I know you can too!

To learn more about the diet please check out these links:

Leave a Reply

